Tags

, , , ,

I have several nature-themed (read: twigs) crafts I’ve been meaning to get around to for a long while now.
Long while meaning years.
Now that we’re finally feeling a little autumn-y down here I decided it was the perfect time to get around to some of them.

The first is just a basic twig star. I saw this a few years back in a magazine, not even sure which, but probably either Martha Stewart or Better Homes & Gardens.
Mine didn’t turn out quite as beautiful as I remember from the photo, but what project ever does?
I don’t think anyone can live up to Martha Stewart.
But that’s okay, here’s my twiggy little star anyway.

It’s very simple and only requires the following supplies:
Twigs/sticks
Twine or string of some sort
scissors
(I thought I might need the glue but I didn’t end up using any)

Using the twine, tie the sticks together to form a star the same way you would draw one. Cut fairly long lengths of twine so you can wrap around the sticks several times for stability.
Repeat until all the points are tied together.
See? Can that be any easier?

Why does this photo look like it’s leaning?
(Which reminds me of Joe Jr. on While You Were Sleeping. Which reminds me that I need to watch it again, because it’s been far too long.)

I’m not sure I like it hanging.¬† But I’m also not sure I like it on the shelf.

Actually, what I really think it needs…is glitter. Because everything is better with glitter.

And now, it’s time for a horrific story.
Well…horrific to me, anyway.

Remember these hurricanes?
We were out walking the other evening and I had the brilliant idea to pick up the acorns that had fallen from a neighbors tree onto the sidewalk. The girls and I even went back down there with little bowls to pick them up, and my plan was to fill the hurricanes with the acorns.
So we brought them home and I washed them, then spread them all out on a kitchen towel to dry.

Well….we weren’t home much the next day so I didn’t deal with them until the following morning.
And thats when I discovered them.

Maggots.
{Insert long periods of shrieking here}

On my kitchen counter.
{Insert long periods of gagging interspersed with more shrieking here.}

So needless to say….the acorns are not going to be part of our autumn decor and the rest of the day was spend dousing everything in sight down with Lysol and Mr Clean.
And then repeating.
And again.
And more shrieking.

Seriously, the grossest thing I’ve had to deal with in a long time. Maybe ever.

Moral of the story: Stick to store-bought acorns.
Cause there are some things from nature that you just don’t want in your house.
{shudder}

The end.

P.S. I figured out why it was leaning to one side. Being the brainiac that I am, I tied the ribbon to the side of the star instead of the top.
See? Much better!

Parties I link to: Craft-O-Maniac, Lines Across My Face, Sew Can Do, Talking Dollars and Cents, Sew Chatty, C.R.A.F.T., Mad in Crafts, Making the World Cuter, Skip to My Lou, Creating My Way to Success, Sumo’s Sweet Stuff, Joy of Desserts, Moms Crazy Cooking, The Girl Creative, The Southern Institute, Sew Happy Geek, Chef In Training, Confessions of a Stay at Home Mom, A Bowl Full of Lemons, Sweet Little Gals, Vintage Wanna Bee, Sugar Bee Crafts, Nothing But Country, Funky Polkadot Giraffe, The Kurtz Corner, Todays Creative Blog, Tip Junkie, Reasons to Skip the Housework , Tempt My Tummy Tuesday, Mandy’s Recipe Box, Running with Glitter, Rook No. 17, the Sasse Life, the Stuff of Success, Trendy Treehouse, My Girlish Whims, Handy Man, Crafty Woman, Sew Woodsy, This Chick Cooks, Sew Much Ado, Sweet Peas and Bumblebees, Polka Dots on Parade, Night Owl Crafting, Ginger Snap Crafts, Southern Lovely, Seven-thirty-three, House of Hepworths, Katie’s Nesting Spot, The Crafty Blog Stalker, Momnivores Delimma, Somewhat Simple, Something Swanky, Luxe Boulevard, Frugalicious Me, A Glimpse Inside, Crafty Scrappy Happy, Fireflies and Jellybeans, With a Shot of Brandy, 5 Minutes Just for Me, Delicate Construction, Simply Sweet Home, Tidy Mom, Fingerprints on the Fridge, Fun to Craft, Creation Corner, Kojo Designs, Simply Designing, Thirty Handmade Days, Sassy Sites, Tatertots and Jello, Bacon Time, Flamingo Toes, Homemaker on a Dime, Six Sisters Stuff, Sweet as Sugar Cookies, The Sweet Details, Candace Creations, Cooking at Cafe D


Thrifty Thursday @ Quilted Cupcake
Serenity you