Tags

, , , , ,

Is that title long enough?

I know it was a bit much.
But if I’d just put chocolate cake it would have sounded too boring, so I went ahead and listed all the yummy parts, too.

So this was obviously my cheat for the week.
Among other things.
But I really don’t want to talk about that.

Back to the cake.

I’m sure I’ve mentioned this before, but I’m usually pretty UN-impressed with scratch cakes. I know homemade stuff is usually better than boxed, but for whatever reason I’ve never been impressed with my results.
In fact, I usually look at the giant mess I’ve created with all of the measuring and sifting and pouring and make a mental note to head straight to the baking aisle at the store and stock up on cake mixes. They’re so much easier.

But this time I have to say that the results were worth the work. Finally, a homemade cake that wasn’t dry or even just mediocre.

Okay, I’ll stop blabbing now and post the recipe so you can make it for yourself.

Chocolate Layer Cake
Recipe found here

 

2 cups sugar
1 & 3/4 cups flour
3/4 cup cocoa powder
1 & 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 & 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
1 cup milk
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 teaspoons vanilla
1 cup boiling water

Preheat oven to 350.
Coat 3 layer pans (8 inch) with cooking spray.
Combine all dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl.

Add milk, oil, vanilla, and eggs.
Mix thoroughly, then add the boiling water.
Divide evenly among the baking pans.

Bake for 25-35 minutes.
Cool in pans for 10 minutes, then transfer to wire racks to cool completely.
Wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate for several hours.

Cream Cheese Filling

1 cup cream cheese
3/4 cup butter
1/2 tablespoon vanilla
6 cups powdered sugar

Beat the cream cheese and butter on medium speed for one minute.
Add the vanilla and beat for another minute.
Add the sugar, 1/2 cup at a time, and beat on low speed until well combined.
Mix for two minutes more on medium speed.

Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

1 cup butter (8 ounces)
1 & 3/4 cups cocoa powder (5 ounces)
6 cups powdered sugar (25 ounces)
1/2 cup + 3 tablespoons milk
2 teaspoons vanilla

Combine the powdered sugar and cocoa powder in bowl.
Beat the butter on medium speed for one minute, then add the sugar/cocoa combination 1/2 cup at a time, stopping halfway to add the milk and vanilla.
Beat at medium speed for two minutes or until fluffy.

Remove cake from refrigerator, and place first layer on plate.
Add layer of cream cheese filling and a second cake layer.
Repeat.
Don’t, however, add cream cheese to the top of the cake….like I did.

Yeah. Not sure what I was thinking there.
But no harm done, just scraped it off and went from there.

Add a crumb coat (thin layer, doesn’t have to look pretty) of buttercream frosting to the sides and top of cake and return to the refrigerator for 30 mintues.

Add the final coat of buttercream and embellish as desired.

Then cut yourself a big ole slice and destroy all the progress you’ve made that week.

Wait, you didn’t think that was my piece did you?
That was for Jeremy.
I’ll take the rest, please. (kidding)

Sigh.

This project featured on:

featured button

Parties I link to: Craft-O-Maniac, Lines Across My Face, Sew Can Do, Talking Dollars and Cents, Sew Chatty, C.R.A.F.T., Mad in Crafts, Making the World Cuter, Skip to My Lou, Creating My Way to Success, Sumo’s Sweet Stuff, Joy of Desserts, Moms Crazy Cooking, The Girl Creative, The Southern Institute, Sew Happy Geek, Chef In Training, Confessions of a Stay at Home Mom, A Bowl Full of Lemons, Sweet Little Gals, Vintage Wanna Bee, Sugar Bee Crafts, Nothing But Country, Funky Polkadot Giraffe, The Kurtz Corner, Todays Creative Blog, Tip Junkie, Reasons to Skip the Housework , Tempt My Tummy Tuesday, Mandy’s Recipe Box, Running with Glitter, Rook No. 17, the Sasse Life, the Stuff of Success, Trendy Treehouse, My Girlish Whims, Handy Man, Crafty Woman, Sew Woodsy, This Chick Cooks, Sew Much Ado, Sweet Peas and Bumblebees, Polka Dots on Parade, Night Owl Crafting, Ginger Snap Crafts, Southern Lovely, Seven-thirty-three, House of Hepworths, Katie’s Nesting Spot, The Crafty Blog Stalker, Momnivores Delimma, Somewhat Simple, Something Swanky, Luxe Boulevard, Frugalicious Me, A Glimpse Inside, Crafty Scrappy Happy, Fireflies and Jellybeans, With a Shot of Brandy, 5 Minutes Just for Me, Delicate Construction, Simply Sweet Home, Tidy Mom, Fingerprints on the Fridge, Fun to Craft, Creation Corner, Kojo Designs, Simply Designing, Thirty Handmade Days, Sassy Sites, Tatertots and Jello, Bacon Time, Flamingo Toes, Homemaker on a Dime, Six Sisters Stuff, Sweet as Sugar Cookies, The Sweet Details, Candace Creations, Cooking at Cafe D, Passionately Artistic, Naptime Creations, Crazy for Crust, Frugally Sustainable, A Little Nosh, Lolly Jane Boutique, Head2Head Showdown Saturday, Between U & Me, My Favorite Finds