Tags

, , , , ,

The de-clutter challenge this week was closets and drawers.

I don’t know about everyone else, but this is always one of the bigger projects for me because I tend to stuff everything I don’t want to deal with in the closet in my living room.

You know, like someone’s coming over and you’re trying to make your house look a little less like the site of a natural disaster, so five minutes before they’re supposed to arrive you stuff everything you don’t have time to deal with into that nice closet that’s just a little too handy.

Or maybe that’s just me.

This particular closet also houses all of my girls art supplies: paper, markers, color books, paints, etc., so even if by some miracle I’m not cramming stuff in there all the time, they probably are.

Before:

After:

Instead of having their stuff thrown haphazardly anywhere it will fit I dedicated the lower shelf entirely to the girls games and craft supplies. Hopefully we can keep it that way.

I threw out all of my old photo negatives. I really have no idea why I was still holding onto them, but realized there was no point in keeping them.

My list of 100 items that I’m de-cluttering grew significantly this week (I’ll post more on that later).

I also found a few project items crammed back there that I’d forgotten about.

I also cleaned the hall closet but forgot a before picture.

It doesn’t look too much different, just more organized. See that gigantic bulging scrapbook up there? It’s completely destroyed and I’ve just been cramming stuff in there for years thinking I’ll get around to it eventually. I wonder if I ever will?

I didn’t work on any drawers this week because I’ve recently de-cluttered my junk drawer and kitchen utensil drawer – my two main clutter culprits when it comes to drawers.

Next week is the last in this challenge and I get to pick my own area, which is probably a good thing because I’ve been avoiding tackling my disaster of a craft area for a while now.

Am I the only one who feels like March was a total whirlwind of activity and projects?
I’m always sad to see this challenge end but it’ll be nice to be able to breathe a little.
Maybe.

