Tags

, , , , ,

One of my goals for the year was to make a quilt.
It’s not my first quilt ever, but I don’t really like to claim the weird mad-cow-infested thing that I made many, MANY years ago.

And even though it took me from August until April to finish a tiny lap quilt, it’s still better time than that first disaster, which spread out over several YEARS.

I’m not sure I’d call this a smashing success.
The pattern I used was the Nightingale Lap Quilt from Aimee Ray’s Doodle Stitching.
Which, by the way, is an adorable book, and I love the projects she includes in it.

The first problem was that I knew nothing about embroidery.
Luckily, she includes descriptions and how-to’s for each stitch.
But still.
So there’s actually a marked difference between my first few shaky stitches and some of the last that I created.
Also luckily, it’s supposed to be imperfect looking.
(I think that saves me more than anything else.)

The second problem is that I kinda started doing my own thing with some of the stitches.
See, the first bird took me FOR-EV-ER. The whole long and short stitch was killing me.
So for the two love birds I used a satin stitch.
Um.
Mistake.

I also somehow didn’t line them up right, because they were supposed to be standing on the seam line and instead ended up kind of just floating somewhere in the block.
I tried to fix that by free-handing a heart.
Um….

Don’t look too closely.
Still, I didn’t rip the stitches out and start over.
Ah well.

I also made the bird/vine thingy in the center block waaaaaay too small; it was supposed to cover most of the block.
Sheesh.

The last problem is the one that bothers me the most, because unlike embroidery, I do know how to sew.

But somehow on the last few inches of binding I got this weird pucker in the fabric….

…which probably all goes back to my random decision to not tie the quilt (because I’ve never seen a tied quilt that I liked), and instead do my own weird version of machine quilting.

Which I know nothing about.
Like, even more nothing than I knew about embroidery.

So basically I just sewed on the seam lines. It turned out okay for the most part, but I’m going to blame that weird pucker on that.

I’d actually like to try this again with a different color scheme.

Anyway, eight months later, Lucy finally gets her quilt.
Poor kid.

Don’t let it blow away on a stormy night, okay Ang?

How the birds are supposed to look.

I already have all of the fabric I need for the next quilt I want to attempt, but honestly, I’m a little bit scared to even try.

Parties I link to: Craft-O-Maniac, Lines Across My Face, Sew Can Do, Sew Chatty, C.R.A.F.T., Making the World Cuter, Skip to My Lou, The Girl Creative, The Southern InstituteChef In Training, Confessions of a Stay at Home Mom, A Bowl Full of Lemons, Sweet Little Gals, Vintage Wanna Bee, Sugar Bee Crafts, Funky Polkadot Giraffe, The Kurtz Corner, Todays Creative Blog, Tip Junkie, Reasons to Skip the Housework , Mandy’s Recipe Box,Rook No. 17, the Sasse Life, My Girlish Whims, Handy Man, Crafty Woman, Sew Much Ado, Polka Dots on Parade, Ginger Snap Crafts, Southern Lovely, House of HepworthsThe Crafty Blog StalkerSomewhat Simple, Something Swanky, A Glimpse Inside, Crafty Scrappy Happy, Delicate Construction, Simply Sweet Home, Tidy Mom, Fingerprints on the Fridge, Creation Corner, Kojo Designs, Thirty Handmade Days, Sassy Sites, Tatertots and Jello, Bacon Time, Flamingo Toes, Six Sisters Stuff, Sweet as Sugar Cookies, Naptime Creations, Crazy for Crust, Lolly Jane Boutique,