Tags

, , ,

The girls and I tried a new cake recipe a few weeks ago for Jeremys birthday.
He’s not a big fan of sweet frosting, so I had a feeling when I saw this strawberry lemonade layer cake that he would enjoy it much more than the super-sweet cakes I usually end up making.
And I was right – he LOVED the frosting/filling, which was really tart and balanced out the sweetness of the cake perfectly.

And because the girls were helping me, we added sprinkles.
Lots and lots and LOTS of sprinkles….

Strawberry Lemonade Layer Cake
(recipe found here)

INGREDIENT LIST:

 

  • 1 strawberry cake mix (plus eggs, water, and oil called for on box)
  • 2 pkgs. cream cheese (8 oz.), softened
  • 1 packet of lemonade Kool-Aid
  • 7 oz. container marshmallow creme
  • 8 oz. tub Cool Whip
  • Yellow food coloring gel (optional)
  • 1/3 cup powdered sugar
  • Fresh strawberries for garnish
  • Sprinkles (optional)

 

 

 

Prepare cake mix according to directions on box.
Pour batter into 2 greased 9-inch cake pans and bake (following directions on box).
Cool completely, then cut each cake layer in half.
Cream together cream cheese, lemonade mix, powdered sugar, and food coloring until completely smooth.
Add in marshmallow creme, then cool whip and mix well.
Assemble cake, spreading filling between each cake layer.
Spread over entire cake and garnish with strawberries (and sprinkles if your kids insist).

We popped our cake in the freezer and really enjoyed the chilled version. (I prefer my cakes frozen, but this is one of the first times Jeremy has said he liked the frozen version better.)

If I made this cake again, I would only use half of the lemonade packet, as it was VERY tart!
I would also leave the frosting off the sides and stick to the filling between the cake layers.
Because sometimes less is more.
Just don’t try to tell that to 3 and 5 year olds…

Parties I link to: Craft-O-Maniac, Lines Across My Face, Sew Can Do, Sew Chatty, C.R.A.F.T., Making the World Cuter, Skip to My Lou, The Girl Creative, The Southern InstituteChef In Training, Confessions of a Stay at Home Mom, A Bowl Full of Lemons, Sweet Little Gals, Vintage Wanna Bee, Sugar Bee Crafts, Funky Polkadot Giraffe, The Kurtz Corner, Todays Creative Blog, Tip Junkie, Reasons to Skip the Housework , Mandy’s Recipe Box,Rook No. 17, the Sasse Life, My Girlish Whims, Handy Man, Crafty Woman, Sew Much Ado, Polka Dots on Parade, Ginger Snap Crafts, Southern Lovely, House of HepworthsThe Crafty Blog StalkerSomewhat Simple, Something Swanky, A Glimpse Inside, Crafty Scrappy Happy, Delicate Construction, Simply Sweet Home, Tidy Mom, Fingerprints on the Fridge, Creation Corner, Kojo Designs, Thirty Handmade Days, Sassy Sites, Tatertots and Jello, Bacon Time, Flamingo Toes, Six Sisters Stuff, Sweet as Sugar Cookies, Naptime Creations, Crazy for Crust, Lolly Jane Boutique,