Tags

, ,

Since I’ve officially been 33 for almost a month now, I guess it’s about time to post the results of my yearly goal list.
So here goes…

Finish a creative project once a week = 52 projects

Yup, pretty sure I nailed this one, although I doubt I shared all of my projects here.

Start My Life: A Collection of Memories (yep…again)

Um….how has a whole year passed already?  I do remember looking through it a time or two if that counts.

Memorize 12 Scripture verses, 1 per month

So here’s the deal on this: I planned to memorize the entire book of Colossians this year (starting in January), but only succeeded through chapter 1, verse 25.  At that point I gave up, although I have still been memorizing verses with my girls.  So technically this is a success, but not on the scale I’d hoped. 

Make a quilt – already have a pattern and most of the supplies (okay…for three.)

Yes! Two down this year!

Update my journal weekly (or more)

Nope.  It happened, but more like monthly instead of weekly.  Lame.

Learn to draw more than a stick figure (already working on this one)

I have made zero progress on my drawing goal.  It’s always in the back of my head, and I know I’ll eventually get to it, but hasn’t happened yet. :(

Learn 6 new songs on the piano (I know…I know)

Seriously, why do I set myself up for failure?  I learned half of one song (Thanksgiving by George Winston), and I can play that half quite well.

Continue working with Susannah on learning to read, and start writing and basic math

Yup, and I now officially have a kindergartener.

Visit Phil and Jenn in Washington and take a trip to the Oregon coast! (Okay, this probably won’t happen while I’m 32 but a girl can dream, right?)

Woo-hoo!  Dreams do come true, and it was a wonderful trip.

Read 2 books per month – 24 total. Still working on my to-be-read list for this goal.

Done.

Get my front flower bed planted this fall/spring with the varieties I’ve (finally!) decided on. It’s only taken me 5+ years to get to this point…

Yes, we did this.  At least with the varieties that could be found.  Unfortunately, less than half of the bulbs we planted even sprouted and there’s no point in trying anything else until the blazing heat of Texas summer is over.  It’s a work in progress.

Paint and distress my bed frame. Shhhh….don’t tell Jeremy.

I put this one off, and thank goodness I did, since we broke the bed frame trying to move it to clean the carpets. :(

Get Madeline fully overnight potty-trained so I can move her into the other bedroom with Susannah.

She’s been fully trained for almost a year now, but we did scrap the plan to have them share a room.  What was I thinking?!

Get the craft room/school room organized (can’t do this until the previous goal is reached).

This plan got nixed (see above), but I did create my own little craft nook.  Now if only I could manage to squeeze myself in there amongst all of the stuff…

Buy some better dressers.

Nope, still making do.

Organize my photos into albums/print photos (from last years failure list)

And another failure.

Learn how to use the manual controls on my camera and start taking better photos.

I’ve done pretty well with the manual controls…makes me wonder why on earth I never learned on my lovely old Minolta.

Learn how to make pretty cupcakes (I’m obssessed, I know).

Uh….I’ve made some pretty-ish ones.  And some hideous ones.  This will be an ongoing goal I think.

Send out birthday cards….on time.

Yeah right.

Be a more intentional mom.

Hmm.  I’ve tried.

Continue my quest to cook healthy-ish meals from scratch

Yes, I think we’re doing better on this.

Add 12 more “keeper” recipes to my collection – 1 per month

Of course! (I should probably specify non-dessert next time)

Deep clean my carpets. I’ve attempted to get this done several times recently and am always thwarted by something or the other (no rentals available, all rentals broken, etc).

Well good grief.  It took almost an entire year, but it finally happened.

Somehow teach my kids to be more organized and responsible with their stuff/toys/clothes/etc.

Definitely another ongoing goal.

Badger Jeremy Persuade Jeremy into building shelves in the back bathroom

Nope.  I forgot to even badger him about it.

Decorate the master bedroom

Uh.  How sad.

Make the girls Christmas and/or Easter dresses

Yup.  I think I did….Christmas?  How on earth can I not remember?!  But I did make them.

Learn to better control my temper and have more patience

I think I’ve made progress.  But I’m probably not the person to be judging that.

Keep clutter at a minimum

Eh.  It’s a constant struggle.

Have family photos taken

NO!  Must schedule immediately!

Start couponing again – but only for what we really need

I’ve done this on a very small (tiny) scale.  But it is a start.

Start appreciating the little moments of each day with my girls. They’ll be grown up before I know it.

I have to think about this all the time.

So that’s it.  I can’t believe another year is gone.  Guess I better get to work on my list for thirty-three.  It seems to help me to have something to strive towards.

But seriously, I think I’ll leave the piano out of this time around.  ;)

