Tags

, , , , ,

Through the years we’ve come to realize that the only things that grow well in our garden are peppers and tomatoes.

The only problem with that is we don’t really care much for tomatoes.

What we DO love are the Rotel canned tomatoes, so after Jerm brought in the twelve millionth tomato I decided to try making some myself.

I’ll be honest.  I was skeptical about how this would turn out.  I didn’t think the homemade variety would be nearly as good as the store-bought.

And I was right.

It’s even BETTER!

I guess freshly grown things really do make a difference.  ;)

HOMEMADE ROTEL TOMATOES

  • 1 gallon tomatoes (some of ours were still green; didn’t matter) – peeled and quartered
  • 1 onion, chopped finely
  • 3 bell peppers
  • 7 chopped jalapeno peppers
  • 1/2 cup white vinegar
  • 2 TBSP canning salt

Put all the ingredients into a large pot and bring to a boil.

Simmer on low for 30 minutes, stirring often.

Pour into jars, wiping the rims clean.

Screw on lids and process.  We used the pressure cooker for about 10 minutes, but you can also use a water bath for 45 minutes.

Parties I link to: Craft-O-Maniac, Lines Across My Face, Sew Can Do, Sew Chatty, C.R.A.F.T., Making the World Cuter, Skip to My Lou, The Southern InstituteChef In Training, Confessions of a Stay at Home Mom, A Bowl Full of Lemons, Vintage Wanna Bee, Sugar Bee Crafts, Funky Polkadot Giraffe, Todays Creative Blog, Tip Junkie, Mandy’s Recipe Box, the Sasse Life, My Girlish Whims, Handy Man, Crafty Woman, Sew Much Ado, Polka Dots on Parade, Ginger Snap Crafts, Southern Lovely, House of HepworthsThe Crafty Blog StalkerSomewhat Simple, Something Swanky, A Glimpse Inside, Delicate Construction, Simply Sweet Home, Tidy Mom, Thirty Handmade Days, Tatertots and Jello, Bacon Time, Flamingo Toes, Six Sisters Stuff, Naptime Creations, Crazy for Crust