Tags

, , , , ,

I’ve officially dubbed this week “DIY Ornament Week” so be on the lookout for some cute homemade goodies for the tree coming your way soon.

This first ornament was something I whipped up a week or two ago to celebrate Rebekah’s first Christmas.

It was easy and cute, but it’s going to be glaringly obvious that I’m a HORRIBLE embroiderer.  Is that even a word?

I decided at the last minute to try and add her date of birth to the onesie and well…you’ll just have to see for yourself.

November 2012 027

Whatev.

Anyway, doesn’t get much more simple than this.

Cut out two identical onesies from felt.

Embellish however you please.  I just added a couple of simple hearts.

And the wonky DOB…

Then just stitch around the edges, using contrasting embroidery floss, leaving an opening to stuff with a tiny bit of fiberfill.  Continue stitching closed leaving a loop of thread at the top for hanging.

And now baby has a homemade ornament to celebrate her first Christmas.

Too bad her momma didn’t put a tree.  Ahem.

November 2012 028

Parties I link to: Craft-O-Maniac, Lines Across My Face, Sew Can Do, Sew Chatty, C.R.A.F.T., Making the World Cuter, Skip to My Lou, The Southern InstituteChef In Training, Confessions of a Stay at Home Mom, A Bowl Full of Lemons, Vintage Wanna Bee, Sugar Bee Crafts, Funky Polkadot Giraffe, Todays Creative Blog, Tip Junkie, Mandy’s Recipe Box, My Girlish Whims, Handy Man, Crafty Woman, Sew Much Ado, Ginger Snap Crafts, Southern Lovely, House of HepworthsThe Crafty Blog StalkerSomething Swanky, A Glimpse Inside, Delicate Construction, Tidy Mom, Thirty Handmade Days, Tatertots and Jello, Flamingo Toes, Six Sisters Stuff, Naptime Creations, Crazy for Crust