Tags

, , , , ,

I’m fairly certain I’ve seen a version of this floating around Pinterest, so I’m sure it’s not original to me, but I love how it turned out and wanted to share.

In spite of all the ornament-making and Christmas/holiday crafting we’ve done this year, I haven’t done so hot on the decorating front.

We put our tree up December 1st, and Jerm put some lights up outside, but that’s about as far as I’ve gone.  Which is really kind of sad, considering the sizeable amount of pretty decorations I have left over from my (December) wedding.  But whatev.

Is it too late to put stuff up now?

December 2012 023

 

I had most of the supplies on hand already for this, and it took minimal effort.

Here’s a quick rundown of what I did for each letter.

The N was already white, so I just added some sparkly white Martha Stewart glitter.  You can’t really tell in the photos, but it’s very fine and sparkles a lot.  I did the same for the star.  I don’t know why the photos make the star look a different color, but it’s sparkly white, too.

December 2012 020

The O is a wreath I already had on hand from….?  I don’t really remember where.  Possibly the Dollar Tree.  All I did was cut up a couple of sprigs of berries and twisted the wires into the wreath at random intervals.

December 2012 019

The E is the only letter I didn’t already have, so I bought a paper mache one from the store.  I would have preferred a wooden letter, but couldn’t find one in the right size at Joann’s and didn’t want to have to make another stop just for one letter.  Lazy, huh?  In my defense, it’s exhausting hauling the girls to a million stores.

But anywho, focus, Bek.

I painted the edges white, used spray adhesive to attach scrapbook paper to the front, then sanded the edges down a wee bit.

December 2012 017

I made the L myself from some scraps of wood from a past project.  I even made one of the cuts myself, but Jerm did most of it for me.  It was simple, but I like to let him flex his muscles.  The I just dry-brushed some red paint on.  Obviously I used a little too much paint, but hey, whatever.

December 2012 018

 

 

And I just set it on my photo ledge.  Instant holiday cheer.

I’m wildly jealous of anyone who has a mantle.  I’m so obsessed that I think I’ve figured out a way to make myself a faux mantle.  Now just to convince Jerm…

December 2012 010

 

 

Parties I link to: Craft-O-Maniac, Lines Across My Face, Sew Can Do, Sew Chatty, C.R.A.F.T., Making the World Cuter, Skip to My Lou, The Southern InstituteChef In Training, Confessions of a Stay at Home Mom, A Bowl Full of Lemons, Vintage Wanna Bee, Sugar Bee Crafts, Funky Polkadot Giraffe, Todays Creative Blog, Tip Junkie, Mandy’s Recipe Box, My Girlish Whims, Handy Man, Crafty Woman, Sew Much Ado, Ginger Snap Crafts, Southern Lovely, House of HepworthsThe Crafty Blog StalkerSomething Swanky, A Glimpse Inside, Delicate Construction, Tidy Mom, Thirty Handmade Days, Tatertots and Jello, Flamingo Toes, Six Sisters Stuff, Naptime Creations, Crazy for Crust