Tags

, , , ,

November 2012 019

These flowers were on my to-do list for a long time before I finally gathered the courage to try them.
I’ve always been a total wuss when it comes to lighters, so the thought of burning the edges of the fabric made me hesitate.
You know.
For a couple of years.

And I’m not gonna lie.
I totally burned my first few attempts.
Charred, ruinous little piles of fabric were not exactly the results I was hoping for, so I almost gave up.
But eventually I got better with just curling the edges of the fabric with the flame and was able to put the fire extinguisher away.
Well, away but within arms reach. ;)

I didn’t use any particular method to my madness, just cut two circles about 5-6 inches in diameter, then cut two circles a little smaller, and continued to do that until I felt I had enough.
See, very scientific.

Curled the edges with the flame (obviously I haven’t perfected this part yet), then piled them together and put a few stitched through the center.
I like adding buttons to the center to embellish a little, then add a clip or pin to the back with a glue gun.

The loveliness of the flowers made me forget all about the shameful little piles of ash that I quickly swept out of sight.
;)

Because I’m a big scaredy-cat about accessorizing, I gave these away to my sister.
Maybe someday I’ll be daring enough to wear one myself. It’s sad that I’m such a plain Jane, because I love pretty stuff.
It doesn’t help that the one time I tried to wear a flower in my hair, my sister was visiting and she laughed at me.
Sniff.

November 2012 020
November 2012 018

Parties I link to: Craft-O-Maniac, Lines Across My Face, Sew Can Do, Sew Chatty, C.R.A.F.T., Making the World Cuter, Skip to My Lou, The Southern InstituteChef In Training, Confessions of a Stay at Home Mom, A Bowl Full of Lemons, Vintage Wanna Bee, Sugar Bee Crafts, Funky Polkadot Giraffe, Todays Creative Blog, Tip Junkie, Mandy’s Recipe Box, My Girlish Whims, Handy Man, Crafty Woman, Sew Much Ado, Ginger Snap Crafts, Southern Lovely, House of HepworthsThe Crafty Blog Stalker, A Glimpse Inside, Delicate Construction, Tidy Mom, Thirty Handmade Days, Tatertots and Jello, Flamingo Toes, Six Sisters Stuff, Naptime Creations, Crazy for Crust