Tags

, , , , ,

 photo FebruaryBlogButton.jpg

My girls and I are super excited to kick off the first week of our Fairy Tale month!

I don’t expect anyone to be surprised that our first book choice for Fairy Tale Month is The Princess and the Pea.

(insert fanfare here)

photo (30)edit

Because seriously, my girls are obsessed.

Here’s the deal with the Princess and the Pea.
The original story by Hans Christian Anderson is seriously lacking in…well, substance.
Basically it goes like this:
This prince wants to get married, but only to a real princess.
Nobody else will do.
Girl gets lost in woods and seeks shelter at his castle.
She proves she’s a princess by noticing a pea under a giant pile of mattresses she’s sleeping on.
They immediately get married.
The end.

Uh….okay.

So I dug around a couple of libraries and found some embellished versions that, if nothing else, at least provided some entertainment.
(For me. Because my girls are already highly entertained by this story. I don’t know why.)
A few of the authors tried to build on the princesses character, but all they could really add was that she was very kind and had good manners (apparently also defining princess characteristics, along with having very sensitive skin).
I’m okay with that.

photo (32)

photo (27)edit

photo (31)

We’ll be working on some really fun projects that go along with our story, and can’t wait to share them with you at the end of the week!

Until then, we shall be practicing our kindness and politeness.
And, you know, our sensitivity.
;)

 photo FebruaryBlogButton.jpg

