Tags

, , ,

This is probably one of the most self-explanatory projects I’ve ever made, but they’re so cute that I thought they deserved their own post.

Behold, the owl paper lantern.

March 2013 012edit

Paper lanterns are super popular right now, and unlike the chevron and yarn wreath crazes, I’m happily willing to jump right on this bandwagon.

I’m sure there are lots of companies you can order these lovelies from, but my go-to place (and probably the most popular) is Luna Bazaar. They have an extensive collection – pretty much any color or style you could imagine or desire.
They’re also affordable, which wins me over every time. ;)

So now that I’ve said all that, here’s how to put these babies together.

Supply list:

White cardstock
Black cardstock
Orange/yellow cardstock or foam
Paper lanterns
Coordinating cardstock or patterned paper
Scissors
Glue dots (or hot glue)

Cut large circles out of the white cardstock for the eyes.
Cut smaller circles from the black cardstock and glue together.
Cut out wings in desired shapes/sizes and glue on the sides.
Cut out a beak and glue under the eyes.

March 2013 003 (2)

I admit, I intended to add some feet to the bottom, but forgot.
In fact, I think I forgot to add feet to any of the owl decorations.
Guess owl feet aren’t my thing.
Maybe Regina’s, though…
(Don’t ask.)

You could also add ears. I was lazy pressed for time so I didn’t.
Hang from the ceiling and you have instant owl decor.
I used glue dots so I could remove the owl-ness and keep the paper lanterns for other uses.
Stick around long enough and you’ll probably see them around here again.

Parties I link to: Craft-O-Maniac, Sew Can Do, Sew Chatty, C.R.A.F.T., Making the World Cuter, Skip to My Lou, Chef In Training, Confessions of a Stay at Home Mom, A Bowl Full of Lemons, Sugar Bee Crafts, Funky Polkadot Giraffe, Todays Creative Blog, Tip Junkie, Mandy’s Recipe Box, My Girlish Whims, Handy Man, Crafty Woman, Sew Much Ado, Ginger Snap Crafts, Southern Lovely, House of HepworthsThe Crafty Blog Stalker, A Glimpse Inside, Delicate Construction, Tidy Mom, Thirty Handmade Days, Tatertots and Jello, Flamingo Toes, Six Sisters Stuff, Naptime Creations