Tags

, ,

This month I’m really focusing on my house and getting some heavy-duty spring cleaning done.  I’m going to be experimenting with a couple of new homemade cleaners, making some re-useable cleaning supply items,  and participating in Project Simplify.

I tackled several projects already in March, and one was working on really cleaning up and polishing my stainless steel kitchen sink.  I don’t know about y’all, but unless my kitchen is clean I feel like my whole house is grungy and dirty, and I hadn’t been happy with just wiping down my sink because I felt like it still looked spotty when I was done.  So I experimented with a few things and here’s the solution I came up with that produced some nice results.

Grody "before" sink

Grody “before” sink

First, spray down the whole sink with white vinegar, then sprinkle with baking soda.  Let that sit for ten minutes or so while you boil a pot of water.

march 2013 020Once the water comes to a boil, pour it into the sink, then scrub it down really well.

clean11Dry with a paper towel, then take a small amount of olive oil and buff the sink well.  This really made my sink shine and I’ve found that it still looks nice with just a quick wipedown after several days of use.

march 2013 023edit

march 2013 024editSo. Much. Better.

Parties I link to: Craft-O-Maniac, Sew Can Do, Sew Chatty, C.R.A.F.T., Making the World Cuter, Skip to My Lou, Chef In Training, Confessions of a Stay at Home Mom, A Bowl Full of Lemons, Sugar Bee Crafts, Funky Polkadot Giraffe, Todays Creative Blog, Tip Junkie, Mandy’s Recipe Box, My Girlish Whims, Handy Man, Crafty Woman, Sew Much Ado, Ginger Snap Crafts, Southern Lovely, House of HepworthsThe Crafty Blog Stalker, A Glimpse Inside, Delicate Construction, Tidy Mom, Thirty Handmade Days, Tatertots and Jello, Flamingo Toes, Six Sisters Stuff, Naptime Creations, I Heart Naptime