Tags

, , ,

I haven’t posted a recipe in a long time, and I’ve been meaning to post a killer blondie recipe FOREVER, so I figured it was about time to get it done.

march 2013 015

I love bar recipes because they’re  practically fool-proof (which is a good thing for fools like me) and they’re QUICK. Just throw the ingredients together and slap em in a pan.

This was the first blondie recipe I ever remember trying and I think I dug it out of some random cookbook that I probably don’t even own anymore, but boy are they GOOD.
Seriously.
I don’t think I’ve even made brownies since I discovered this recipe.
THAT good.

Brown Butter Blondies

  • 10 TBSP Unsalted Butter
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 Cup Brown Sugar, packed
  • 1/4 Cup White Sugar
  • 2 tsp Vanilla
  • 1 1/4 Cups Flour
  • 1/4 tsp Salt
  • 1 1/4 Cups Shredded Coconut (Sweetened)
  • 1 1/4 Cups M&M’s

In a saucepan, heat the butter over medium heat until it browns (don’t let it burn!).
Let it cool for a few minutes, then mix together with the sugars.
Stir in the egg, vanilla, salt, flour, and coconut until well combined.
The original recipe called for chocolate chips, but I substituted M&M’s the first time around and now we’re hooked. I’ve used peanut, peanut butter, and most recently, coconut M&M’s (they were by FAR the best!).
So, add in the M&M’s.
Press into greased 9×9 pan and drop a few M&M’s on the top.
Bake at 350 for 25 minutes.
Let cool completely before slicing.

They’re the perfect balance between chewy and crunchy and gooey. I could probably eat the whole pan by myself.

march 2013 018

Parties I link to: Craft-O-Maniac, Sew Can Do, Sew Chatty, C.R.A.F.T., Making the World Cuter, Skip to My Lou, Chef In Training, Confessions of a Stay at Home Mom, A Bowl Full of Lemons, Sugar Bee Crafts, Funky Polkadot Giraffe, Todays Creative Blog, Tip Junkie, Mandy’s Recipe Box, My Girlish Whims, Handy Man, Crafty Woman, Sew Much Ado, Ginger Snap Crafts, Southern Lovely, House of HepworthsThe Crafty Blog Stalker, A Glimpse Inside, Delicate Construction, Tidy Mom, Thirty Handmade Days, Tatertots and Jello, Flamingo Toes, Six Sisters Stuff, Naptime Creations, I Heart Naptime