Tags

,

Project Simplify on Simple Mom

I had these grand plans to tackle my (horrendous) craft space for this last week of Project Simplify.
But I didn’t realize just how big of a job doing a once-a-month menu plan and shopping trip was.
And then I’m doing a little experimenting with freezer meals so Wednesday was tied up with that.

So by yesterday afternoon I had given up all hope of working on the craft area since it’s going to require painting and hanging shelves and massive re-organization to make it workable.

Instead I decided to try something a little different with my pantry since the whole stockpiling for an entire month thing had made it difficult to fit everything in.
May 2013 046

I’d been tossing the idea around of switching up my kitchen storage for a few weeks so I finally decided to just give it a try.
Pulled everything out of the pantry, one shelf at a time, and soaped the shelves really well (how do they get so gross when the food is mostly closed/sealed?!), added some shelf liner, and instead of putting the food back in filled the shelves with the items from my kitchen cabinets.

May 2013 050

May 2013 048

It’s going to take some getting used to, but I think it’s going to work out quite well. I can actually see all the food I have and the dishes are all in one place. Plus, now the girls can reach their own cups. Score!

Maybe next year I’ll get to the craft room….

