Tags

, ,

One of our favorite recipes from the great freezer cooking experiment in May was BBQ Meatballs.  Honestly, this one really surprised me because I’m not a fan of BBQ sauce.  I was always the irritating kid that asked my dad to leave off the sauce on one burger when he grilled (and he always obliged because he’s awesome like that), so I fully expected to not like these meatballs.  I mainly gave them a shot because the husband likes meatballs and I very rarely make them for him.

Turns out they’re pretty stinkin good, and they’re incredibly easy.

May 2013 044

Freezer-Friendly BBQ Meatballs
(adapted from this recipe)

3 lbs fresh ground beef (I use 90% lean)
2 eggs, beaten
2 cups milk
2 cups oats
2 tsp salt
2 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp black pepper

Combine all ingredients, mixing well. Shape into 1-inch meatballs and lay on cookie sheet.
Freeze on cookie sheet for one hour, then separate into freezer bags and return to freezer.

To serve, thaw overnight in refrigerator, then bake in a greased baking pan for 18-20 minutes at 350.

Make BBQ sauce while meatballs are cooking.

BBQ Sauce

2 cups ketchup
1.5 cups brown sugar
1/2 tsp garlic powder

Combine ingredients in a saucepan and bring to a boil, stirring frequently. Turn heat down and simmer for two minutes, then pour over meatballs and bake for 10-20 minutes longer.

Serve over rice.

I was able to separate this recipe into four different meals for my family, so three went straight into the freezer for future use.

Love it!

Parties I link to: Craft-O-Maniac, Sew Can Do, Sew Chatty, C.R.A.F.T., Making the World Cuter, Skip to My Lou, Chef In Training, Confessions of a Stay at Home Mom, A Bowl Full of Lemons, Sugar Bee Crafts, Funky Polkadot Giraffe, Todays Creative Blog, Tip Junkie, Mandy’s Recipe Box, My Girlish Whims, Handy Man, Crafty Woman, Sew Much Ado, Ginger Snap Crafts, Southern Lovely, House of HepworthsThe Crafty Blog Stalker, A Glimpse Inside, Delicate Construction, Tidy Mom, Thirty Handmade Days, Tatertots and Jello, Flamingo Toes, Six Sisters Stuff, Naptime Creations, I Heart Naptime