Tags

, ,

photo1

I was just about to write that this casserole was something I put together on a whim, when I realized that Heather and I made something similar at grandmas a few years back.  She had clipped a recipe from a newspaper or something and asked us to try it during one of our visits.  We thought it was good, and the kids didn’t gag, so it was considered a success.

We didn’t keep the recipe, but I think this casserole is pretty similar to the one we tried that day.  I just took a gamble on whether it would freeze well, and it seems to have passed the test.

Pizza Casserole

  • 1 box of noodles (I used rotini)
  • 1 container of cottage cheese (I don’t remember how much, probably around 16 oz)
  • 1 jar red sauce
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 tsp Italian seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 cup parmesan
  • 3 cups  mozzarella, shredded
  • 1 package of pepperoni

Cook the noodles, then drain and cool while you prepare the rest of the dish.
Whisk together the eggs, milk, parmesan, and seasonings. Add in the cottage cheese.
Pour mixture over noodles and toss until coated.
Pour the noodles into a greased 9×13 pan (I split this recipe in half and used 2 8×8′s) and top with the red sauce.
Layer 1/2 of the pepperoni, then the mozzarella, and top with the rest of the pepperoni.
Bake for 20-30 minutes at 375.

photo10

Since most casserole dishes make far too much for my family, splitting them into two separate meals has been pretty awesome. Not only do we waste less, but it gives me a night off when I pull the other half out of the freezer. Love it.

Parties I link to: Craft-O-Maniac, Sew Can Do, Sew Chatty, C.R.A.F.T., Making the World Cuter, Skip to My Lou, Chef In Training, Confessions of a Stay at Home Mom, A Bowl Full of Lemons, Sugar Bee Crafts, Funky Polkadot Giraffe, Todays Creative Blog, Tip Junkie, Mandy’s Recipe Box, My Girlish Whims, Handy Man, Crafty Woman, Sew Much Ado, Ginger Snap Crafts, Southern Lovely, House of HepworthsThe Crafty Blog Stalker, A Glimpse Inside, Delicate Construction, Tidy Mom, Thirty Handmade Days, Tatertots and Jello, Flamingo Toes, Six Sisters Stuff, Naptime Creations, I Heart Naptime