Tags

,

Tonight was one of those perfect, lovely evenings that are so beautiful and peaceful that they steal your breath away for a few moments. I was standing out in our backyard after dinner, watering the garden and reflecting quietly to myself when I realized that I’ve finally come to accept Texas as my home. It has been a difficult and sometimes lonely transition. Everything here is different from what I was accustomed to up north, but I’ve slowly come to accept it as my own. There are things that I will always miss about Alaska. There are things that I still miss about Oregon. But living in the past is a mistake I have no intention of making. So…here is a small glimpse of what I love about Texas:

  • the gorgeous year-round sunsets that paint the wide-open skies
  • the beautiful and varied wildflowers that grow everywhere you look
  • Walgreens, CVS, and double coupons :O)
  • Southern hospitality
  • the way ancient trees on both sides of quiet streets reach to meet each other in the middle
  • fireflies

I do miss Alaska. But Texas is my home.  And for the first time, I’m okay with that.

