According to Wikipedia 20% of the world was illiterate in 1998. TWENTY PERCENT!! I cannot imagine what life would be like without having the ability to read or write. Books add so much spice to life. They have the ability to transport you to a different place or time and make it seem so much more real than just knowing the place exists on a map somewhere (or not!!).

I love books. I’ve been somewhat disgusted with myself lately for allowing so much time to elapse without having finished a single book. I used to read a book a day. Being young means you have a LOT more expendable time though, so I’ve set more realistic goals for myself. My goal this year is to read one book for every letter of the alphabet. The trick sometimes is finding something interesting to read that starts with a certain letter. I’ve already gotten off track and read several that start with the same letter so suggestions would be appreciated!! My list so far:

A – Alligators, Old Mink, and New Money (very interesting…a bargain shopper book!!); An American Life: Ronald Reagans Autobiography (I WILL finish this book this year!!)

B –

C – Chasing Fireflies (just skimmed this one, wouldn’t really recommend it)

D –

E – Eragon (still working on this one, not sure what I think about it yet), Eldest

F – Freakonomics

G –

H – How to Photograph your baby

I –

J –

K –

L –

M – Mosaic by Amy Grant (I read this to see if maybe I hated her for no reason….nope. Justifiable)

N –

O –

P –

Q –

R – Real Food (almost done); Rhett Butlers People; Redwall

S – Skin

T – Their Eyes Were Watching God; The Testament; To train up a child

U –

V –

W – Worn-out Woman, What to Expect: Eating Well When You’re Expecting

X –

Y –

Z –

I obviously have quite a way to go, although I think I may have forgotten a title or two that I’ve already read. Any great book suggestions?

