I’ve followed the Simple Mom blog for several years now and was super excited to read her recently released book, Organized Simplicity.

I felt fairly certain that I would enjoy the book but didn’t realize that it would be the best book I’ve read in a really, really long time.  I’ve tried wading through other simple living guidebooks recently but found it ironic how complicated their plans were!  You had to learn yoga and meditation and all kinds of stuff that I’m not interested in learning.  And that was just to prepare your mind for living simply.  Whatever.

Anyway, back to Organized Simplicity.  Tsh (Simple Mom) takes an incredibly practical approach to simple living.  The book consists of two parts: first, she explains what simple living means (and yes, it can mean different things to different people) and the steps you need to take to get started.  The second part of the book is a step by step decluttering/cleaning/simplifying plan for organizing your home.  I’ve read the book twice now in the past month and this week I’m tackling the project section.  I’ve been decluttering for…well, quite a while now.  I still have so much stuff, though!  I’m excited to cut out the excess.  Plus this will also count as a really good spring cleaning – bonus!

All this to say – I would recommend Organized Simplicity to anyone.  I’m so excited about it that I even convinced (okay, begged) Jeremy to read it!  It’s a really quick and simple read.  Exactly as it should be.   : )

