I know I haven’t been on here for a while.  Last week I was in one of those funks and I kind of let it flow  into this week a little.   Amazing how fast time goes when you’re avoiding stuff (you know, like blogs and human contact).

I learned that even ogres can be successful in the kitchen once in a while, though.

Here are two new recipes I tried that went over well.  With Jeremy and Madeline.  If it’s not pizza or macaroni and cheese, nothing goes over well with Susannah.  I wonder where she got that from…

Success #1 – Greek Salad Club sandwiches

6 flat pita bread rounds, halved horizontally and toasted*

1 hummus container 7-oz

4 romaine lettuce leaves

1 large tomato, sliced

1 yellow sweet pepper, seeded and sliced

1/2 English cucumber, sliced

2 oz. feta cheese, crumbled

1/4 cup lightly packed fresh oregano leaves

1/4 cup Greek vinaigrette dressing

Spread eight pita halves with hummus.  Layer 4 of the spread slices with romaine, tomato, and sweet pepper slices.  Top with four spread pita halves, hummus sides up.

Layer cucumber, feta cheese, and fresh oregano.  Drizzle with dressing.  Top with remaining pita halves.  Makes 4 sandwiches.

* To toast: Preheat broiler.  Lay pita halves, cut sides up on two baking sheets.  One baking sheet at a time, broil pita halves 3 to 4 inches from heat for 1 minute until toasted.

450 calories per serving.

Jeremy REALLY liked these, which surprised me.  I half expected him to say not to make them again but he was super impressed.  It was our first time trying hummus and I’ve got to say – YUM!  Not crazy about the feta, though.  You know….texture.

Success #2 – Stacked Sweet Corn, Bean, and Beef Casserole

These are taco-ish so of course I had to try them!  :D

2 ears fresh corn on the cob

8 oz lean ground beef

7 oz uncooked chorizo sausage

1 15-oz can pinto beans, rinsed and drained

1 TBSP extra virgin olive oil

1 small yellow onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

3/4 cup bottled chunky green salsa

1 TBSP chili powder

2 tsp cumin

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

4 flour tortillas (8 to 9 inch)

1 1/2 cups shredded cheddar

sour cream

cilantro

chopped tomatos

Preheat oven to 375.  cut corn from cobs; set aside. Grease 12 inch pizza pan; set aside.

In a large skillet cook beef and chorizo until brown and cooked through, breaking up any large pieces with a spatula; drain fat.  Add beans to beef mixture and heat through.  Cover and keep warm.

In another large skillet, heat olive oil over medium heat.  Add onion, pepper, and garlic.  Cook, stirring occasionally until tender, about 10 minutes.  Add corn, slasa, chili powder, cumin, and cayenne.  Cook 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Place two of the tortillas in prepared pan.  Top with meat mixture.  Reserve 1/4 cup cheese.  Divide the remaining 1 1/4 cups cheese in half; sprinkle one half over the meat mixture.  Add another tortilla, vegetable mixture, and remaining half of cheese.  Add final tortilla.  Cover loosely with foil and bake 10 minutes.  Uncover and sprinkle with reserved 1/4 cup cheese.  Bake 10 minutes more.  Top with sour cream, tomatoes, and cilantro.  Makes 6 servings.

I know, I know, yall are probably tired of all the recipes and cooking gibberish, but, frankly…my creative juices haven’t been flowing well lately and this is what is interesting me these days.  I’m in the throes of potty training and stilllllllllllllllllll not having any success in my attempts at weight-loss so it’s either this or a bunch of rants.  Just a suggestion – I would pick the recipes if I were you.

