I’ve been flipping past this recipe for several years now and I almost always paused to drool over the picture. I love granola. It’s so….crunchy. And as most of our spouses could probably tell you…we McBrooms love to crunch. (I blame mom for teaching us all to crunch our ice.) In my yogurt (the only thing that makes me want to choke the nastiness down), in my ice cream, over berries, by the handful, by the mouthful, whatever. Just love it.

It was a little spendy to make because I didn’t have many of the ingredients on hand and of course no bulk food store available for a trillion miles so I had to buy full-size containers/bags/jars of everything, but the deliciousness was worth it in the end.
Super easy and quick to make and truly scrumptious (remember that movie/song?) to devour.

Easy Granola (again with the creative names…who comes up with these things?)
Makes 6 cups

4 cups old fashioned rolled oats (not quick cooking)
1 cup sliced almonds
1/2 cup shredded coconut (preferably unsweetened)
1/4 cup unsalted pepitas (hulled pumpkin seeds) or shelled sunflower seeds
1/2 cup pure maple syrup
2 TBSP canola oil.
1/2 tsp kosher salt (or whatever you find handy)
1 cup dried fruit (cherries, raisins, currants, cranberries)

Heat over to 350. On a rimmed baking sheet, toss oats, almonds, coconut, and pepitas with the maple syrup, salt, and oil.
Bake, tossing once, until golden and crisp, 25 to 30 minutes.
Add the dried fruit and toss to combine. Let cool.
Will keep in a cool, dry place in an airtight container for up to 3 weeks.
(Like it will last that long…)

