I know I don’t express my love and gratitude as often or as well as I should, but thought I should at least give it a try on a day that is nationally dedicated to recognize fathers.

I’m so thankful for my dad. He’s one of the strongest, wisest, most steady role models in my life, and while I’ve not always respected him as much as I should, he’s one of the first people I would consider going to for advice and counsel in my life now. I appreciate his wisdom and his dedication to raising his children according to Godly standards and hope to raise my girls with as much love and care as he and my mom did with my siblings and I. I love my dad. I don’t say that enough. It’s hard living so far away, especially since I would like his influence in my children’s lives.

Which brings me to my other dad, my father-in-law. I know not everyone is lucky enough to love their in-laws, but I somehow scored big time in that department. Having to move thousands of miles away from my family has been one of the hardest things I’ve ever done, and God in his infinite grace, decided to give me a truly amazing substitute dad to help ease the pain of separation. My father-in-law is nothing like my dad, and everything like my dad. I know I could go to him for advice and be assured of an answer that contained the same Godly wisdom as my real dad. He accepted me, flaws and all, into his family wholeheartedly, and I’m so thankful t have such a wonderful second family. And there is no way to express my gratitude for the loving place of influence he holds in my daughters lives.

Finally, I’m incredibly thankful for my husband and his dedication and love for our girls.
I love how much time he takes to play with them.
I love how much he cares about their well-being – physical, emotional, and spiritual.
I love how excited and happy they are to see him each day, as they run to the door to greet him.
I love that he reads the Bible and prays with and for them.
I love the interest he takes in their small, everyday concerns, fears, and joys.

So to all of the fathers in my life…I love you and am thankful for you. More than I can express.

