I’ve been looking for some healthy(ish) make-ahead breakfast foods lately since I’m trying to move away from sugary cereals for the girls, and I’m not really wild about cooking first thing in the morning.  We eat a lot of boiled eggs and bananas, but that does get old after a while.  I love Moneysavingmom’s blog (for many reasons), but lately have been especially excited with her weekly menu plans and recipes.  She recently posted this recipe found on Anne Jisca’s blog, and being the chocolate lover that I am I knew I needed to give it a try.

They were easy to whip up and I froze most of the batch for future quick breakfasts – along with a boiled egg of course.  : )

Double Chocolate Oatmeal Muffins

Double Chocolate Oatmeal Muffins

(Makes 12 muffins)

1 cup oatmeal
1 cup whole wheat flour (the original recipe calls for half wheat/half white, but I used all wheat and they turned out great)
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 cup sugar (brown or white)
2 Tbsp cocoa
1 egg
3/4 cup buttermilk
1/4 cup margarine
1/2 cup chocolate chips

Mix dry ingredients together. Add egg, milk, and margarine to dry ingredients, then fold in chocolate chips. Bake at 375F for 15-20 minutes

