These pancakes really do taste like a cinnamon bun. Since my girls love pancakes so much we usually have breakfast-for-dinner every two or three weeks. I’m not personally a huge fan of pancakes so I’m glad for a little variation every once in a while. If you adore cinnamon as much as I do, or if you have little pancake-loving ankle-biters around, you’ve got to try these.

Cinnamon Bun Pancakes
(I found this recipe on the How Does She? blog. Her pictures are a thousand times better than mine.)

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (I used whole wheat)
3 Tbsp white sugar
1/2 tsp salt
4 tsp baking powder
1 1/2 Tbsp Cinnamon (the original recipe calls for 1 TBSP, but I wanted mine really cinnamon-y)

Mix the dry ingredients together first.
Here’s a photo just in case you don’t know how ;)

Then in a separate bowl mix the wet ingredients:

2 egg, beaten
1 Cup of milk (this recipe is really thick so if you prefer runny batter you’ll need to add a little more)
2 Tbsp Corn Syrup (I substituted regular maple syrup and it worked fine)
1/4 Cup butter or margarine, melted
1 Tbsp vanilla

Once they’re nicely mixed, add the dry ingredients and whisk together really well. No lumps in this batter (which I’ve never understood and always beat them out anyway. Who wants lumps of flour in their cooked pancake?).

Then just throw these bad boys onto a greased griddle (or however you cook your pancakes) and flip once they just start to bubble. They don’t take as long to cook as pancakes normally do.

I doubled the recipe and put half of the batch in the freezer. Which Jeremy promptly took out the next morning. *insert eye roll* So much for my quick breakfast attempts…

Serve warm with butter and syrup or use this Maple Icing Syrup recipe (also really delicious, but use it sparingly since it’s pretty sweet).

1 cup powdered sugar
1/4 cups butter – melted
1 Tbsp Maple Syrup
1/4 cup milk

Mix together and drizzle over warm pancakes.
Personally I like the pancakes without the syrup. They’re cinnamon-y good all by themselves.

