Oh my word, people. Stop whatever you’re doing and make these cupcakes RIGHT NOW.

Seriously.

They’re the most yummilicious cupcakes I’ve ever tasted. I could eat one every day of my life and never stop loving them.

Rhubarb Cupcakes (found here)
Makes 1 dozen cupcakes (so you’ll probably want to at least quadruple your recipe) :D

First make the rhubarb puree.

You’ll need 4 cups of fresh or frozen rhubarb; thaw rhubarb if necessary. Blend rhubarb in blender.
You should have about 2 cups of puree (for whatever reason I ended up with a lot more than 2 cups. Maybe I mis-measured. Oh well, guess I’ll just have to make another batch!)
Simmer the rhubarb puree over low heat until it is reduced by half. It should make about 1 cup (again…I ended up with more).
Use half in the cupcake batter and half in the frosting.

Then make the cupcakes:
1/2 cup rhubarb puree
1 1/2 cup all purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
pinch salt
1/4 cup milk
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 cup butter, softened
1 cup sugar
2 eggs

Preheat oven to 350ºF. Prepare cupcake pan with liners.

Mix together the flour, baking powder, and salt and set aside. In a separate bowl combine the butter and sugar and beat until light and fluffy (uh – mine didn’t look very fluffy, but whatever). Add eggs, milk, vanilla, and rhubarb puree and mix. Then add the dry ingredients and mix until combined. Pour into cupcake liners and bake for 20-25 minutes. Cool on a wire rack. Frost when completely cool.

Finally, make your frosting and try not to eat the whole bowl of it while impatiently waiting for the cupcakes to cool. You’ll have extra!

1/2 cup butter softened
1/2 cup cooked rhubarb puree, cooled (directions follow)
5-6 cups powdered sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla

Beat together butter, rhubarb puree, and vanilla. Gradually add the powdered sugar until it reaches your desired consistency.

And of course, I ran out of powdered sugar around 5-ish cups and it was too runny to make my cupcakes look beautiful or I’d have a picture to go along with the recipe.

But don’t worry, we just dipped them into the frosting and ate em that way. No way were we going to let that precious manna go to waste.
Next time they’ll be beautiful, I’m sure. :)

And seriously….go check out the gorgeous pictures on the original recipe post. It’ll make you want to take a bite out of your computer screen.

Happy Birthday to me. I need to go. I have something I need to be baking
eating doing.

