I have to remind myself that just because little ones repeat the same thing over and over or say things that make no sense (to me), that doesn’t mean that what they have to say isn’t important. It’s very important to them and they like to be taken seriously by their parents. I’m ashamed to say that I’ve often brushed off their little conversations as unimportant or a distraction instead of giving them my undivided attention and really listening to what they have to say.

I’ve come to realize that if I want them to talk to me when they’re older I must cultivate a willingness to listen and converse with them now, while they still desperately want to tell me everything on their young hearts.
To littles, their whole world revolves around their parents. But it doesn’t last long. All too soon, they’ll be more willing to talk to their friends instead of mom.

Today, we’ll be spending the greater part of the day in the car making the long drive home. My goal is to really take time to talk and listen to my girls.
About what’s important to me. And especially what’s important to them.

