I’m just going to admit it.

I’m not sure I’ll make this challenge.
It’s surprising how hard it is to write about one topic every day for a month (really, half a month).

I haven’t given up yet, but I’m wavering on whether I can make it for the entire month.
I’d like to try this challenge again, but choose an easier subject. ;)

Poor Susannah is battling her third round of some sort of stomach virus that’s been making its way through our household. I feel so badly for her, but she’s a brave little kid. Doesn’t even cry. I’m pretty sure I would at this point.

But back to the topic.

I am a believer in having children on a schedule.
I’m not talking about a rigid, every-minute-of-the-day-planned-out kind of thing.
More like a regular routine that we can base our days off of.

It may not work for everyone, but my kids are much happier and secure when we stick to a routine.

Get up around the same time each day, have meals at (fairly) set times, participate in certain activities (schoolwork, chores, family devotions, naps/quiet time, etc) at a certain time each day, and have a regular bedtime (super important!).

When we travel or for whatever reason are off our routines the kids are tired, cranky, and don’t know what to expect, which throws their whole day off.

That’s not to say that they will always be grouchy, or never have a good time when their routine isn’t followed.
In fact, they adore going to their grandparents house where they pretty much get to do whatever they want (within reason).
But as soon as they come home it becomes obvious that they need to resume their regular schedule.

I’ve known parents who don’t believe in routines.
Maybe it works for them.

But for our family, at this point in our life, a loosely followed schedule works well for us, and keeps things running smoothly in our home.

I’ll take order over chaos any day. :)

