Aaah, bedtime.

Here’s how I always envision it unfolding:
We have our family devotions.
The girls pick up any toys that are scattered throughout the house.
They change into their jammies.
I brush their teeth.
Lots of hugs and kisses get passed around.
We pray and they go to sleep.

Here’s more of our reality:
We start family devotions when they’re already supposed to be in bed.
They need a drink.
They massively drag their feet about cleaning up the toys.
Dissention.
They need a drink.
They put their jammies on.
Backward.
Inside out.
Whatever will give them more time.
I call them into the bathroom to brush teeth.
They argue for five minutes about who goes first.
They need a drink.
I tell them to use the restroom before bed.
They argue for five minutes about who goes first.
They need a drink.
They need to give daddy 25 different kind of kisses (bear kisses, upside-down kisses, hat-on kisses, hat-off kisses…)
They need a drink.
They go to bed.
They need a drink.
They go back to bed.
They need to give sister hugs.
They need a drink.
They need to find Bear-Bear, baby, and the special blanket.
They go back to bed.
I’m so frazzled I forget to pray with them.
Blessed silence.
They need a drink.

It’s not always that bad.
But usually it goes something like that.
I’ve really worked lately on being more patient at bedtime but I get frustrated pretty easily by that time of the evening.
I’m tired and want to relax.
But I have to remind myself that we’re still training them.
And they’re just little girls.
If they want to give their dad 2000 kisses it’s worth the extra five minutes.
They’re dressing themselves and cleaning up after themselves.
They’re obeying (although somewhat reluctantly).
And if I think back really hard I can remember when going to bed was the call of doom in my own life. ;)

I just need to work on being more patient.
And maybe, just maybe, someday our bedtime routine will resemble the first scenario more than the second.

But if not, that’s okay too.

