The Improve Cooking Challenge

I thought this cooking challenge sounded too fun to not join in!
Each month Sheryl will list a few key ingredients to work with and anyone who would like to participate can join in and create a recipe using those ingredients.

For more info click the link at the top of the page!

I took the really easy way out this time around since we’ve been battling sickness ever since we’ve been home from visiting the sis early this month, and just made caramel apples.
I’ve been wanting to give them a try for a long time so took this opportunity to experiment a little with them.

Plus it was super simple!

Chocolate and candy-coated Caramel Apples

5-6 apples*
Bag of caramels
Chocolate chips or almond bark
Candy/Nuts of your choice
Cookie sticks or popsicle sticks

Wash and dry the apples and insert a stick into the apple at the stem; push them through at least halfway.

Melt the caramels in a pan on low heat, stirring constantly.
I added in a couple of tablespoons of milk to give it a thinner consistency.

Dip apples into caramel and turn to coat the entire surface. Lay on wax paper until hardened. I actually stuck the sticks into styrofoam blocks to dry but they dripped so badly that I wouldn’t recommend it.

Melt chocolate chips or almond bark and dip the apple into the chocolate until coated as desired.

Immediately cover with toppings (I used Heath toffee chips) and let dry on wax paper.

Enjoy!

*I used Braeburn apples because they are my favorite but they weren’t really tart enough to compete with all of the candy coating so I would use Granny Smith apples if I made them again.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

