I found this recipe here and decided to make it for the fall festival at our church last week.
Except….I made the mistake of making them Friday night.
The party wasn’t until Saturday.
Yeah.
Let’s just say that by the time Saturday rolled around there weren’t enough left to take.

Jeremy and I are ridiculous when it comes to sugar. I mean it.
RI.DIC.U.LOUS.

So…all because of this recipe I’ve challenged myself to not eat any sweets until Thanksgiving.
I seriously debated on whether or not to publicly announce that since I’m a little worried that I’m setting myself up for failure here.
Or maybe it’ll motivate me to stick to my goal.
(snicker)

No, seriously.
I need to do this.

Back to the recipe, though.

Carmelitas

46 caramels
4 TBSP milk
1 cup flour
1 cup quick oats
3/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup melted butter
1 cup chocolate chips
1/2 cup Heath toffee bits

Preheat oven to 350.
Melt caramels together with milk in microwave.
Stir every minute until smooth.
Set aside.

Combine all dry ingredient except chocolate chips and Heath and mix well.

Add melted butter combine well.

Press 3/4 of mixture into 13×9 inch pan and bake for 10 minutes.

Remove from oven and sprinkle top with chocolate chips and toffee bits.
I added more than called for.
You know.
Just to make it that much healthier.

Drizzle caramel evenly across the top.

Sprinkle with remaining crumb mixture and bake 15-20 minutes.

Do yourself a favor and make these when you won’t be the only one around to devour the whole pan.
Don’t ask me how I know.

Parties I link to found here.

