One of my yearly goals is to read at least two books a month.
So far I’m only a little behind schedule, although I’m not sure if I’ll be able to keep up with a few of the selections I have coming up in the next month or two (John Adams!).

I actually read more than two books a month, but in particular I’d like to include at least one biography and one book that falls in either the family/relationship/organizational or spiritual/religious category.
I don’t mind deviating  once in a while, but that is more or less my monthly goal.

One of my life goals is to read a book on each president, so I’m happy to make a little progress on that front.
So far I’ve read:
His Excellency – George Washington
Decision Points – George W. Bush
An American Life – Ronald Reagan
small portions of My Life – Bill Clinton
small portions of John Adams – Adams

I’d love some presidential biography suggestions!
Oh, and I already have Mornings on Horseback (Roosevelt) and Truman by David McCullough. Just haven’t read them yet.

I meant to post my progress each month but I’m a little behind here so I’ll try to catch up.

August:
Calm My Anxious Heart by Linda Dillow – finished
This was pretty good. I’d definitely recommend it if you’re a worrier. I think, as women, we all fall into that category to some degree, but I didn’t really connect with this book. I’m not sure if I didn’t give it enough thought, if I’m not honest with myself about how much I’m anxious, or if I’m really not a worrier. Just didn’t resonate much. Still, I’m glad I read it.

Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier – finished
I loved this book. To be honest, it was kind of depressing, but I love unexpected endings. I was completely taken in by the first chapter; her writing style is beautiful. I can see why this is a classic (unlike some others that fall in the same category).

September:
The Well-Trained Mind by Susan Wise Bauer – finished
This book is a treasure if you’re considering teaching your kids at home. This is by far the most useful book I’ve read on home-schooling. She also lists curriculum recommendations for each grade, preschool through highschool.

Decision Points by George W. Bush – finished
This is the best political autobiography I’ve ever read, partly because it was entertaining and easy-to-read, and partly because he didn’t get bogged down in writing about every single day of his political career. I think the way he divided the book by the major decisions was brilliant and kept it from being ridiculously long like some of the others I’ve attempted (950+ pages of Bill Clintons My Life, anyone?).
Overall, I really enjoyed it.

October:
Rekindling the Romance by Dennis and Barbara Rainey – finished
This book is divided into a sections: one for the wife, one for the husband. I didn’t read the second part but I enjoyed the portion written for wives. It gave me a little more insight into understanding how my husband thinks.
And that’s always a good thing.

The First American : the Life and Times of Benjamin Franklin by H.W. Brands – still working on
My first fail. Technically, I’ve been working on reading this book for over a year. Which means it’s been sitting in various places around my house collecting dust and making me feel guilty for only reading half a page every month.
It contains a lot of good information, and seriously, Franklin was brilliant, a genius, but this book definitely falls into the category of the way-too-detailed biographies.
I’ll keep slogging through and finish up sometime this month.

November:
One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where you Are by Ann Voskamp
I’ve just barely started this book, but I’ve heard a lot of good things about it. Voskamp writes beautifully; everything she writes is poetic.

The First American : the Life and Times of Benjamin Franklin by H.W. Brands

December:
Real Food: What to Eat and Why by Nina Planck

A Mom After God’s Own Heart: 10 Ways to Love your Children by Elizabeth George

January:
John Adams by David McCullough

Gift from the Sea by Anne Morrow Lindbergh

And that’s a far as I’ve made it on my list.
Does anyone have any great books to suggest?
I’d love to hear them!

