Photobucket

The recipe I used for this challenge is found here at The Farm Girl. Love this girls website – she has some killer recipes posted and her photography skills make me want to eat my computer screen.

This is a wildly fattening recipe, which translated means it’s a wildly good recipe.
Unfortunately for Jeremy and I, neither of our girls like mashed potatoes.
At all.
Like, refuse to take a single bite.

In retrospect I probably should have cut this recipe in half so we wouldn’t have them around the house to eat on for the next week.

Or we could just workout non-stop and keep eating them.

Creamy Mashed Potatoes

5 lbs. Yukon gold potatoes
3/4 c. butter
8 oz. cream cheese, softened
2/3 c. half-n-half
1 t. seasoning salt
1 t. black pepper

Peel and chop potatoes.
Since you’ll be doing this for pretty much the rest of your life, go ahead and get your pot of water boiling.

Or…if you’re terrified of dumping five pounds of potatoes in boiling water you can just get it boiling after they’re all cut.

Cook until they’re soft enough to slide a fork in easily. I usually wait until they’re just about falling apart.
Drain those bad boys.

Mash together the potatoes, cream cheese, butter, and half-and-half.

Once they’re well mashed add the salt and pepper and mash some more.

Transfer to oven-safe dish and add a few pats of butter to the top.
Place in 350 degree oven until butter is melted and potatoes are warmed through.
I realize my pats are more like slabs. I obviously don’t know what pats are.
The potatoes ended up swimming in butter, which I eventually was able to semi-mix in.
Personally, I think you could skip the butter pats altogether and save yourself a little artery-clogging.

Serve!
This really is an amazing recipe!

Alternatively, after mashing, you could put these in the refrigerator overnight and warm these the next day.

45 minutes before serving remove from fridge, add butter pats and bake at 350 degrees for 35-45 minutes or until completely warmed through.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

