Gussy

Source: google.ca via Rebekah on Pinterest

Source: vadana.tumblr.com via Rebekah on Pinterest

I love Thanksgiving.  It’s been my favorite holiday for years now.  I would say forever but what are the odds that it beat out Christmas when I was a kid?  ;)

I think it started being my favorite somewhere in my late teens.  You know, when I started liking food.

I loved those Thanksgivings at the Humphreys.  I don’t miss them as much as I used to, but I think they’ll always be some of my favorite memories.

All those people crammed into their living/dining area, the games, the laughter, crowding around the fire, Pastor keeping watch for the exact moment that dinner was supposed to be ready (was it one?  or two?  I can’t remember.), the arsenal of pies….  I remember the year Reb and I were in charge of the meal and how nervous Suzie and mom were.  Funny thing, I can’t remember how our meal turned out.  Must not have been a disaster or I’d remember (hopefully)!

Maybe God was trying to prepare me for the changes to come, because the last year I was there they were in their new house, and although all of the friends and family were there (minus Heather!), it just wasn’t the same.

I’m going to be honest.  I don’t remember much about Thanksgiving before we moved to Alaska.  I think Aunt Linda and her fam came once while we were in Portland.  I guess I’m getting old, because everything pre-Alaska is pretty fuzzy.  Actually, a lot of post-Alaska memories are growing fuzzy.  Just part of life, I guess.

You get older.  You move on.  You make new memories.

I’ve enjoyed my Thanksgivings down here.  They’re different.   Foodwise, anyway.  Because as it turns out, none of the Lewis guys like turkey.  Can you believe it?!  It’s almost un-American of them, right?  I don’t even remember the variations we’ve had, although I know we did a cajun Thanksgiving one year.  Still, the most important elements are there: good friends, wonderful family, and of course, sugar-laden dessert.

And finally, last year I hosted for the very first time!  And my sis and family are coming again this year, which makes me so happy!  We both love Thanksgiving and it’s nice to get to spend a holiday with someone from my side of the fam.

And seriously, my hat goes off to the ladies who host big holiday dinners every year.  I don’t think I’ve ever been as tired and cooked-out as I was last year.  Crazy but loads of fun!  Plus – I have a sister to go Black Friday shopping with!  Yay for the craziness of BF shopping!

I’ll be posting my list of thankfulness later on – I’m off to finalize my menu!

Hooray for Thanksgiving!

