Tags

The subject this week: a childhood memory

So, I missed the last photo challenge again.
Which is really lame, because the theme was: someone you love.
Um, it doesn’t get much easier than that.
But it was Thanksgiving and I had company and yada, yada, yada (saying that always reminds me of Amanda. Talk about your childhood memories!)

I haven’t done super well this time around either, as you’ll see shortly.
I know my photo is poor quality.
It was taken on my phone and it was a very emotionally charged moment. ;)

See?

The reason this reminds me of my childhood is because I remember several times when I cried in the shoe store as I was growing up.

One minor difference, though.

Susannah is crying because I was making her try on the plain, unadorned, black dress shoes.
She wanted the glittery, polka-dotty, ruffley, shiny, BEAUTIFUL ones.

When I cried it was probably for the opposite reason. I would have died if my mom had made me wear fancy shoes.
Shoe shopping was very traumatizing for me.

Even more so if Ang was along, but that’s another story for another day.

But back to Susannah, my fancy little child.
We left without buying anything that day.

Don’t tell her but I’m planning to go back and get the plain shoes…and dress them up with glitter.

So, yeah.
Bad, blurry picture.
But it makes me laugh every time I see it.
Does that make me a mean mom?
Don’t answer that.

