Tags

, , ,

Photobucket

April’s challenge was to find a blueberry muffin recipe.

And for a blueberry hater, it was a challenge.

But Susannah asks me every time we go shopping if I’ll buy her blueberries so I decided to dig up a good recipe – and just leave the blueberries out of a muffin or two so I could taste them too.

I don’t know if I have an actual allergy to blueberries or if I just imagine my throat swelling shut, but after a few episodes I quit eating them back in the Alaska-blueberry-picking days.

Plus, (sorry to all of the blueberry lovers out there, my entire family included) I just think they taste grody.

But I did find a good recipe, and the whole fam approved (especially Susannah), so I guess the almost $4 I spent on a tiny pint of the hideous things were worth it.

Oh, and the plain lemon muffins that I ate were good.
The only modification I made was to add a little lemon juice to the actual muffins because I like them to taste very lemon-y.

Lemon Blueberry Muffins
(Recipe found here.)

1.5 cups flour
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1 TBSP lemon zest
1/3 cup oil
1 egg
1/3 cup milk
2-3 TBSP lemon juice
1 cup fresh blueberries

GLAZE

1/2 cup powdered sugar
1 TBSP lemon juice

Mix the dry ingredients together.
Add lemon zest.
Whisk the oil, egg, lemon juice, and milk together and add all at once to dry ingredients, mixing until just moistened.
Carefully fold blueberries in.
Pour into greased muffin pans.
Bake at 400 for 20 minutes.

Mix glaze ingredients together until you reach the right consistency.
Drizzle over warm muffins.

To see more blueberry muffin recipes check out these links!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

