, , ,

I remember back when Death by Chocolate (you know, the brownie, chocolate pudding, cool whip, and Heath layered monstrosity) was new and exciting and all the rage with my friends and family.
It had brownies in it, so I thought it was pretty much the greatest invention ever.
As long as they weren’t homemade brownies.
(I still haven’t found a good homemade recipe, but feel free to share if you have a winner.)

Also, death by chocolate was a kind of savior when I first moved down here to the land where everyone had grown up together and at potlucks everyone had their trusty favorite dishes and were wildly skeptical of anything new and different.
The first few times I brought food nobody touched it.
Not even my brand-new husband.
(Thanks a lot.)

And then I realized that nobody in their right mind would turn down a big pile of bite-sized-brownie, over-the-top-chocolatey, whipped-cream-smeared, toffee-flavored pile of goo.
And I was right.
Saved me.

The only problem is….I don’t really like it anymore.
Like…at all.

I think I do.
And then I take a bite, and I’m done.

So technically, I should only ever make it for dessert.
It would really help with the dieting thing.

But anyways.

In an attempt to shake things up a little I tried a peanut butter version a few weeks ago.
Still not my thing, but most of it got eaten so I’m guessing it’s just that weird thing going on with me, and has nothing to do with the actual recipe.

Peanut Butter Cup Trifle
(recipe found here)

1 fudge brownie mix (family size)
Large bag of miniature peanut butter cups
4 cups cold milk
2 packages (5.1 ounces each) instant vanilla pudding mix
1 cup creamy peanut butter
4 tsp vanilla extract
16 oz carton cool whip

Bake the brownies, according to box. Let cool, then cut into bite size pieces.
Whisk the milk and pudding together until thick, then add the vanilla and peanut butter.
Cup peanut butter cups in half.

Layer half of the brownies, half of the pudding, half of the  cool whip, and yep, half of the peanut butter cups.
Repeat layers.
Keep refrigerated.

Parties I link to: Craft-O-Maniac, Lines Across My Face, Sew Can Do, Sew Chatty, C.R.A.F.T., Making the World Cuter, Skip to My Lou, The Southern InstituteChef In Training, Confessions of a Stay at Home Mom, A Bowl Full of Lemons, Vintage Wanna Bee, Sugar Bee Crafts, Funky Polkadot Giraffe, Todays Creative Blog, Tip Junkie, Mandy’s Recipe Box, the Sasse Life, My Girlish Whims, Handy Man, Crafty Woman, Sew Much Ado, Polka Dots on Parade, Ginger Snap Crafts, Southern Lovely, House of HepworthsThe Crafty Blog StalkerSomewhat Simple, Something Swanky, A Glimpse Inside, Delicate Construction, Simply Sweet Home, Tidy Mom, Thirty Handmade Days, Tatertots and Jello, Bacon Time, Flamingo Toes, Six Sisters Stuff, Naptime Creations, Crazy for Crust