Tags

, , ,

I made some laundry stain remover a few weeks ago but wanted to try it out for a while before I shared the results.

I’m happy to report that after using it regularly for the past few weeks (and having two kids under the age of 5, I use it ALL the time!), that I love the homemade product even more than my all-time favorite, Shout!

I originally saw the stain remover posted here and had just run out of Shout, so it was the perfect time for me to give it a try.

I was a little skeptical at first that it would work as well, but so far it’s worked just as well, or better, than Shout or Spray & Wash ever did.
I even used it on a pair of jeans that had dried blackberry stains (the husband was the culprit this time) and it completely removed any trace of the berry!

Here’s what you need:

2/3 cup Dawn dish detergent

2/3 cup ammonia

6 TBSP baking soda

Mix everything together in a bowl with 2 cups of warm water.
Using a funnel, pour into a spray bottle.

To treat, spray directly on fabric.
I usually let the solution sit on the stain for a while before washing, but it starts working immediately, and several times I’ve rubbed the fabric together and the stain has dissolved completely in just a minute or two!

Awesome stuff, and much more cost-effective than my old standard, Shout.

Parties I link to: Craft-O-Maniac, Lines Across My Face, Sew Can Do, Sew Chatty, C.R.A.F.T., Making the World Cuter, Skip to My Lou, The Southern InstituteChef In Training, Confessions of a Stay at Home Mom, A Bowl Full of Lemons, Sweet Little Gals, Vintage Wanna Bee, Sugar Bee Crafts, Funky Polkadot Giraffe, The Kurtz Corner, Todays Creative Blog, Tip Junkie, Reasons to Skip the Housework , Mandy’s Recipe Box,Rook No. 17, the Sasse Life, My Girlish Whims, Handy Man, Crafty Woman, Sew Much Ado, Polka Dots on Parade, Ginger Snap Crafts, Southern Lovely, House of HepworthsThe Crafty Blog StalkerSomewhat Simple, Something Swanky, A Glimpse Inside, Crafty Scrappy Happy, Delicate Construction, Simply Sweet Home, Tidy Mom, Fingerprints on the Fridge, Kojo Designs, Thirty Handmade Days, Sassy Sites, Tatertots and Jello, Bacon Time, Flamingo Toes, Six Sisters Stuff, Sweet as Sugar Cookies, Naptime Creations, Crazy for Crust, Lolly Jane Boutique,