I’ve been struggling along in my attempt to lose weight for well over a year now, without much success. A typical week sees a little loss, which I usually manage to ruin over the weekend. I have, however, managed to pack on quite a bit of muscle over the past year so I wouldn’t call all of the work a total loss.
I’ve cut my calorie intake back even further this year (and again recently), and my main problem seems to be lunchtime, since I just kind of scavenge for whatever I can find (leftovers, sandwiches, etc).

When I first ran across this Green Monster Smoothie recipe I was reallly skeptical.
I am NOT a spinach fan, at least not the cooked-in-a-pan variety.

But I’m desperate enough to give just about anything a try, and boy am I glad I did.

These smoothies are GOOD!
And very filling.

Each serving has around 20g of protein, and is between 350-390 calories.

Green Monster Smoothie
(recipe found here)

1 banana, sliced and frozen
1 TBSP peanut butter
1/2 cup vanilla yogurt (I couldn’t find the Greek low-fat version used in the original recipe, which is why mine was 390 calories instead of 350)
1 cup milk
2 cups spinach (original called for 4 cups fresh, but I used frozen)

Peel and slice banana, and place in freezer for a few hours.
Add everything to blender and blend until all the chunks are broken up, then liquify until smooth.

Seriously, these taste amazing!
Plus they’re super filling, and slightly sweet, a perfect cure for my lunch-time munchies.

Parties I link to: Craft-O-Maniac, Lines Across My Face, Sew Can Do, Sew Chatty, C.R.A.F.T., Making the World Cuter, Skip to My Lou, The Girl Creative, The Southern InstituteChef In Training, Confessions of a Stay at Home Mom, A Bowl Full of Lemons, Sweet Little Gals, Vintage Wanna Bee, Sugar Bee Crafts, Funky Polkadot Giraffe, The Kurtz Corner, Todays Creative Blog, Tip Junkie, Reasons to Skip the Housework , Mandy’s Recipe Box,Rook No. 17, the Sasse Life, My Girlish Whims, Handy Man, Crafty Woman, Sew Much Ado, Polka Dots on Parade, Ginger Snap Crafts, Southern Lovely, House of HepworthsThe Crafty Blog StalkerSomewhat Simple, Something Swanky, A Glimpse Inside, Crafty Scrappy Happy, Delicate Construction, Simply Sweet Home, Tidy Mom, Fingerprints on the Fridge, Creation Corner, Kojo Designs, Thirty Handmade Days, Sassy Sites, Tatertots and Jello, Bacon Time, Flamingo Toes, Six Sisters Stuff, Sweet as Sugar Cookies, Naptime Creations, Crazy for Crust, Lolly Jane Boutique,