Tags

, ,

Okay, seriously people, if you have a weak stomach you may not want to read any further.

I have a weak stomach and I don’t really want to write any further. ;)

But just in case there’s anyone else out there that is as completely clueless as I was about dishwasher cleaning, I’ll keep going.

So.

When we bought our house six years ago, the dishwasher was listed as non-working.
Bummer, right?

Except that we decided to try it anyway, and guess what? It worked!
Not exceptionally well, but it did seem to get the dishes clean.

Occasionally there would be a plate or fork that still had food stuck to it, but I’m pretty good about doing a pre-rinse, so that didn’t happen often.

Then a little while ago we started smelling something gross whenever we’d turn our dishwasher on.
Kinda like rotten egg smell.

Sickening, huh?

And I noticed that the dishes weren’t as clean as before.

So I did something I’ve never really done before.
I looked inside of my dishwasher.

Okay, I promise that I’m not a super bad housekeeper.
I mean, if you walked in you wouldn’t think my house was dirty.
Lived in, yes, but dirty? I dont think so.
Or I hope not, anyway.

But for whatever reason, I just never considered cleaning out the inside of my dishwasher.

Am I alone here?

Because I seriously never even thought to look inside of my dishwasher, let alone clean it.

So now that I’ve confessed, it’s time for the gag-a-trocious part.

I pulled out the following parts (and no, I don’t know the technical names for any of this):

the sprayer rotating thing from the bottom
the thing that it sits in
the filter(?) that’s underneath all of that.
the filter-like thing that’s on the top of the door

And let me tell ya, nothing prepared me for all the decayed food, broken glass (yeah), dirt, and SLIME that I found up under there.

If you’ve never cleaned your dishwasher out, I’d recommend putting on some protective gear and gas masks before you attempt it.
I’m serious.

So anyway, here’s a photo so you can see exactly what I did.

Because if you’ve never cleaned this stuff out before and you’ve used your dishwasher for a while, you might want to check it out and make sure it doesn’t become what mine did.

#1 – Follow the instructions on the photo and clean up the toxic waste you discover underneath. My entire filter was completely clogged up. In fact, I didn’t even realize that there were holes in it when I first pulled it out. But that may have been due to the eye-watering and gagging going on.

#2 – Clean out the filter on the door (or whatever that thing is). It wasn’t nearly as bad but there was some buildup.

#3 – Put all the cleaned parts back and use a toothpick to make sure all of the little water spouts in the sprayer-thingy are clear. Oddly enough, mine didn’t seem to be clogged.

#4 – Run through a couple of cycles with vinegar before re-loading dishes into the washer. I considered using bleach, also, but settled for 2 vinegar cycles and then a soap cycle.

The result – smell is gone and my dishes are much cleaner when they come out.

I’ve got to say, though, that seeing all that gunk made me seriously consider whether I should hand-wash everything.
*gag*

This project was featured on:

Photobucket

IhookedupwithHoHlamespice

Parties I link to: Craft-O-Maniac, Lines Across My Face, Sew Can Do, Talking Dollars and Cents, Sew Chatty, C.R.A.F.T., Mad in Crafts, Making the World Cuter, Skip to My Lou, Creating My Way to Success, Sumo’s Sweet Stuff, Joy of Desserts, Moms Crazy Cooking, The Girl Creative, The Southern Institute, Sew Happy Geek, Chef In Training, Confessions of a Stay at Home Mom, A Bowl Full of Lemons, Sweet Little Gals, Vintage Wanna Bee, Sugar Bee Crafts, Nothing But Country, Funky Polkadot Giraffe, The Kurtz Corner, Todays Creative Blog, Tip Junkie, Reasons to Skip the Housework , Tempt My Tummy Tuesday, Mandy’s Recipe Box, Running with Glitter, Rook No. 17, the Sasse Life, the Stuff of Success, Trendy Treehouse, My Girlish Whims, Handy Man, Crafty Woman, Sew Woodsy, This Chick Cooks, Sew Much Ado, Sweet Peas and Bumblebees, Polka Dots on Parade, Night Owl Crafting, Ginger Snap Crafts, Southern Lovely, Seven-thirty-three, House of Hepworths, Katie’s Nesting Spot, The Crafty Blog Stalker, Momnivores Delimma, Somewhat Simple, Something Swanky, Luxe Boulevard, Frugalicious Me, A Glimpse Inside, Crafty Scrappy Happy, Fireflies and Jellybeans, With a Shot of Brandy, 5 Minutes Just for Me, Delicate Construction, Simply Sweet Home, Tidy Mom, Fingerprints on the Fridge, Fun to Craft, Creation Corner, Kojo Designs, Simply Designing, Thirty Handmade Days, Sassy Sites, Tatertots and Jello, Bacon Time, Flamingo Toes, Homemaker on a Dime, Six Sisters Stuff, Sweet as Sugar Cookies, The Sweet Details, Candace Creations, Cooking at Cafe D, Passionately Artistic, Naptime Creations, Crazy for Crust, Frugally Sustainable, A Little Nosh, Lolly Jane Boutique