Tags

, , ,

I wanted to make something fun for the kids while we were visiting my brother in Washington, and honestly, I’ve been waiting for an excuse to try the Kit-Kat cake that I’ve seen floating around Pinterest for a while.
It was super easy and the kids LOVED it!

All you need is:

Box cake mix
Tub of frosting (or a batch of homemade)
3 of the giant bars of Kit-Kat
Bag of M&M’s (or other candy topping)

I’m sure this would have been super with a scratch cake and homemade frosting, but with all that candy on top, it really didn’t matter that we took the easy route with a box mix.

Make the cake in round pans according to box.
Let cool, then frost.
Break the Kit-Kat bars apart carefully, then press them onto the sides of the cake.
Pour M&M’s over top, and tie a ribbon around the cake.
I was going to skip the ribbon, but it helped hold everything together while the frosting set up.

Serve to your amazed kids. ;)

Parties I link to: Craft-O-Maniac, Lines Across My Face, Sew Can Do, Sew Chatty, C.R.A.F.T., Making the World Cuter, Skip to My Lou, The Southern InstituteChef In Training, Confessions of a Stay at Home Mom, A Bowl Full of Lemons, Vintage Wanna Bee, Sugar Bee Crafts, Funky Polkadot Giraffe, Todays Creative Blog, Tip Junkie, Mandy’s Recipe Box, the Sasse Life, My Girlish Whims, Handy Man, Crafty Woman, Sew Much Ado, Polka Dots on Parade, Ginger Snap Crafts, Southern Lovely, House of HepworthsThe Crafty Blog StalkerSomewhat Simple, Something Swanky, A Glimpse Inside, Delicate Construction, Simply Sweet Home, Tidy Mom, Kojo Designs, Thirty Handmade Days, Sassy Sites, Tatertots and Jello, Bacon Time, Flamingo Toes, Six Sisters Stuff, Sweet as Sugar Cookies, Naptime Creations, Crazy for Crust