This recipe is (very) loosely based on Betty Crocker’s Malt Shoppe Memories Ice Cream Cookie Cake.
I made quite a few modifications, but the basic idea came from the recipe on my Betty Crocker calendar.

We aren’t fans of malt flavoring so I skipped that and I subsituted brownies for the cookie mix, which tasted great, but made for a denser base. I may have to try it again with the cookie mix in hopes of a fluffier crust.

I find malted milk balls vomitrotious myself, but Jeremy likes them so I used them this time around. Personally, I think crushed Heath bars would be a much yummier substitute.

Ice Cream Brownie Cake

1 box brownie mix
1 egg
1/3 cup oil
2 TBSP water
1 cup whipped topping
1/2 cup hot fudge topping
1 cup crushed chocolate covered malted milk balls
4 cups chocolate ice cream, softened

Heat oven to 350 and lightly spray 10-inch springform pan with cooking spray.

Combine brownie mix, egg, oil, and water. Press 1/2 of batter into bottom of springform pan. Press remaining dough into 9-inch greased pan. Bake 15 minutes or until just set. Cool completely, about 30 minutes.

Spread the hot fudge topping over crust in springform.

Crumble remaining brownie crust and mix with crushed malted milk balls.

Sprinkle half of the mixture over hot fudge and press lightly.

Stir ice cream in a large bowl until soft enough to spread over crumbs in pan.

Spread whipped topping on top of the ice cream.

Sprinkle the top with the remaining crumb mixture.

Cover with foil and freeze for at least 5 hours (or until firm) before serving.

To serve, remove sides of springform pan and let stand for 5 minutes. Use hot wet knife to cute into wedges or squares. Store covered in freezer.

Linking to parties listed here.

Tidy Mom