Tags

, , , ,

Have you ever loved something but then somehow forgot about it?

That’s how I am with snickerdoodles. I love them, but I HATE to make them. Anything that requires rolling each individual cookie in anything is pretty much a no-go in my house.
I don’t even really know why, cause I’ll spend hours slaving over a cake or cupcakes.
But anyways.
I used to beg my sister to make these when I lived at home.
Probably even after I didn’t live at home anymore.
But since she lives a zillion miles away now I’ve just completely put these little bites of heaven from my mind.

Until I saw this post.

{Cue angels singing.}

And even though it’s probably saved me countless calories over the years I’m just a little miffed that I didn’t think of this glorious idea myself.
Snickerdoodle bars?
Why yes, I think I will.

Frosted snickerdoodle bars?
Well, I’m pretty much in love.

Cookies

1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp soda
2 cups flour
1/2 tsp cream of tartar (not called for in the original recipe, but I’ve never seen a snickerdoodle recipe without it)

Cream the butter and sugars together, then add the eggs, vanilla, and cinnamon, mixing until well combined.
Add the flour, cream of tartar, and baking soda.
Press into 8×8 or 9×9 greased pan and bake at 375 for 30-35 minutes.
**I added extra baking time to the original recipe and they were perfectly chewy/crispy on the outside and soft in the middle**

Frosting

1/4 cup butter, softened
1/4 cup cream cheese, softened
1 tsp vanilla
4 cups powdered sugar (use a little more or less to achieve desired consistency)

Beat together cream cheese and butter until fluffy.
Add the vanilla and powdered sugar until the frosting is the consistency you want. I prefer mine thick so added a little more powdered sugar (about 1/2 cup).

I also had the (not) brilliant idea that to double the recipe and use a 9×13 pan so my bars ended up very, very thick.
Now I’m not complaining about this; they were wonderful.
But if you don’t want to bring 2/3 of the pan back from the gathering you’re attending then I wouldn’t recommend doubling.
But don’t worry, we took care of the rest.

Once the bars have completely cooled, frost and enjoy.
I think I could just live off of these and never eat anything else.

Parties I link to: Craft-O-Maniac, Lines Across My Face, Sew Can Do, Sew Chatty, C.R.A.F.T., Making the World Cuter, Skip to My Lou, Creating My Way to Success, Moms Crazy Cooking, The Girl Creative, The Southern Institute, Chef In Training, Confessions of a Stay at Home Mom, A Bowl Full of Lemons, Sweet Little Gals, Vintage Wanna Bee, Sugar Bee Crafts, Funky Polkadot Giraffe, The Kurtz Corner, Todays Creative Blog, Tip Junkie, Reasons to Skip the Housework , Mandy’s Recipe Box,Rook No. 17, the Sasse Life, Trendy Treehouse, My Girlish Whims, Handy Man, Crafty Woman, Sew Much Ado, Polka Dots on Parade, Night Owl Crafting, Ginger Snap Crafts, Southern Lovely, Seven-thirty-three, House of Hepworths, The Crafty Blog Stalker, Somewhat Simple, Something Swanky, A Glimpse Inside, Crafty Scrappy Happy, Fireflies and Jellybeans, 5 Minutes Just for Me, Delicate Construction, Simply Sweet Home, Tidy Mom, Fingerprints on the Fridge, Fun to Craft, Creation Corner, Kojo Designs, Simply Designing, Thirty Handmade Days, Sassy Sites, Tatertots and Jello, Bacon Time, Flamingo Toes, Six Sisters Stuff, Sweet as Sugar Cookies, Naptime Creations, Crazy for Crust, A Little Nosh, Lolly Jane Boutique, Head2Head Showdown Saturday, Between U & Me, My Favorite Finds