Tags

, , ,

So, Jerm and I had a date night a few weeks back and ended up at Firewheel Mall (very nice place, by the way!) when our original plan to go bowling fell through.
(Which probably saved us from lung cancer.)

We wandered around World Market and Barnes and Noble for a while before stumbling upon Dessertapalooza where I discovered the worlds most amazing cupcake – vanilla topped with an out-of-this-world cherry almond buttercream frosting.
Seriously…it was so good.
Here’s proof:

It was more than worth blowing my diet for, and I’ve been obsessing over it ever since.
Honestly, why have I never heard of this flavor combination in all of my vast cupcake-eating experience?

So I knew that I had to attempt to replicate it.

While my version wasn’t quite as wondrous as the original it was still enough to make my taste buds very, very happy.

Cherry Almond Buttercream Frosting

1 cup salted butter
4-5 TBSP whipping cream or half and half
4 cups powdered sugar
1 tsp cherry extract
1 tsp almond extract

Whip the butter really well, and gradually add in powdered sugar. Add cream/half and half and beat well.
Once it’s well mixed add the extracts.
Beat until fluffy.

Slather it on a cake and if you’re cool like me, refrigerate.
Mmmmm, heaven on a plate.

Parties I link to: Craft-O-Maniac, Lines Across My Face, Sew Can Do, Sew Chatty, C.R.A.F.T., Making the World Cuter, Skip to My Lou, The Southern InstituteChef In Training, Confessions of a Stay at Home Mom, A Bowl Full of Lemons, Vintage Wanna Bee, Sugar Bee Crafts, Funky Polkadot Giraffe, Todays Creative Blog, Tip Junkie, Mandy’s Recipe Box, the Sasse Life, My Girlish Whims, Handy Man, Crafty Woman, Sew Much Ado, Polka Dots on Parade, Ginger Snap Crafts, Southern Lovely, House of HepworthsThe Crafty Blog StalkerSomething Swanky, A Glimpse Inside, Delicate Construction, Simply Sweet Home, Tidy Mom, Thirty Handmade Days, Tatertots and Jello, Bacon Time, Flamingo Toes, Six Sisters Stuff, Naptime Creations, Crazy for Crust