Tags

, ,

April 2013 005edit

So I’ve been following this girl for a while now, and as soon as I saw her recipe for pretzel pizza bites I knew I had to give them a try myself.  I don’t even care that I’m a copycat, because her recipe is so awesome there was nothing to change about it.  Plus she loves Star Wars so she’s pretty much my hero.

They turned out just as yummy as I imagined, although my photos don’t even come close to doing them justice.  (If you want to be awed, just click over to the original post and prepare to drool.  Her photos make you want to eat the screen.)

Pretzel Pizza Rolls

1 cup milk
1 TBSP  yeast
3 TBSP brown sugar
2 TBSP butter, melted
2 1/2 cups flour
1/2 TBSP Italian seasoning
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp fine salt
1 cup shredded mozzarella
1/2 cup chopped pepperoni
1/3 cup baking soda
3 cups warm water
Coarse salt
5 TBSP butter, melted

Warm the milk in the microwave for 1.5 minutes, stir in the yeast, and let sit for a couple of minutes.  Add the butter and sugar, then the flour a little at a time.  Add salt, Italian seasoning, and garlic powder and knead for 10 minutes.

Put in a greased bowl and let it rise until doubled in size (about an hour).

Combine the baking soda and warm water in a large bowl.

Divide dough in half and roll into a thick, long rope.

Flatten, top with cheese and pepperoni, then pinch the edges together, sealing completely (as much as possible).

Dunk the entire thing in the baking soda/water mixture for a couple of seconds, then slice into (small) pieces and place on greased baking sheet.  My pieces turned out gigantic, so slice smaller than I did if you want them to be all pretty and stuff.

Sprinkle with the kosher salt and bake for 8-10 minutes at 400.

Brush melted butter right out of the oven and enjoy these puppies.

So, so good.

April 2013 002edit

Parties I link to: Craft-O-Maniac, Sew Can Do, Sew Chatty, C.R.A.F.T., Making the World Cuter, Skip to My Lou, Chef In Training, Confessions of a Stay at Home Mom, A Bowl Full of Lemons, Sugar Bee Crafts, Funky Polkadot Giraffe, Todays Creative Blog, Tip Junkie, Mandy’s Recipe Box, My Girlish Whims, Handy Man, Crafty Woman, Sew Much Ado, Ginger Snap Crafts, Southern Lovely, House of HepworthsThe Crafty Blog Stalker, A Glimpse Inside, Delicate Construction, Tidy Mom, Thirty Handmade Days, Tatertots and Jello, Flamingo Toes, Six Sisters Stuff, Naptime Creations, I Heart Naptime